ACTION ITEM -TWO 2nd AMENDMENT BILLS- scheduled for THURSDAY

Please read these bills and if you are interested, please contact the committee members and voice your support/opposition. You do not have to reside in the committee members’ district to have an impact on these bills!  The committee is charged with representing all Texans on those bills heard in their committee,  It is their duty to allow the body of the entire Senate to discuss and vote on bills after they have passed out of the committee.  It is at that time each senator should vote according to their district.

Bills to be heard in the State Affairs [SENATE Committee]
TIME & DATE: 9:00 AM, Thursday, February 12, 2015
PLACE: E1.016 (Hearing Room)

SB 11 Birdwell | et al.
Relating to the carrying of concealed handguns on the campuses of and certain other locations associated with institutions of higher education.

SB 17 Estes [ REVISED agenda – SB 17 added, SB 346 removed]
Relating to the authority of a person who is licensed to carry a handgun to openly carry a holstered handgun; creating a criminal offense; providing penalties.

Public testimony will be limited to 2 minutes per person.
AGENDA: http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/tlodocs/84R/schedules/html/C5702015021209001.HTM
VIDEO: http://www.senate.state.tx.us/bin/live.php

*****PLEASE CALL: State Affairs [Senate Cmttee]*****
Chair: Sen. Joan Huffman 512-463-0117 joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us
Vice Chair: Sen. Rodney Ellis 512-463-0113 rodney.ellis@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Brian Birdwell 512-463-0122 Brian.Birdwell@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Brandon Creighton 512-463-0104 brandon.creighton@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Craig Estes 512-463-0130 craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Troy Fraser 512-463-0124 troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Jane Nelson 512-463-0112 jane.nelson@senate.tx.state.us
Sen. Charles Schwertner 512-463-0105 Charles.Schwertner@senate.state.tx.us
Sen. Judith Zaffirini 512-463-0121 Judith.zaffirini@senate.state.tx.us

TALKING POINTS:
Bill # SB 11 and SB 17
The TEXAS CONSTITUTION is clear:
ARTICLE 1.
Sec. 23. RIGHT TO KEEP AND BEAR ARMS. Every citizen shall have the right to keep and bear arms in the lawful defense of himself or the State; but the Legislature shall have power, by law, to regulate the wearing of arms, with a view to prevent crime.
Removing individual right of lawful self-defense, is a violation of the Texas Constitution and the U.S. Constitution
– Creation of “gun-free zones” has historically shown us that those without regard for the law choose such “zones” to violate the law and murder un-armed law-abiding individuals.
– Texans have an inherent right to self-defense at all times, not only when a peace officer is present
– Although the 2nd Amendment is very clear, “shall not be infringed” does not translate to permission or a license, at the very least, the State has a responsibility ‘to regulate the wearing of arms… to prevent crime”

Thank you for your consideration.  What is Senator _ _ _ _ ‘s position at this time?

Leave a Reply